5 Films A Lot Of People Loved That I Didn’t

So, I realised that there were quite a few films that are widely considered to be popular that I either outright didn’t like or was bitterly disappointed with. If I offend or confuse anyone in this post, I apologise.

1. TITANIC

It’s considered one of the must-see movies of our age and in fact, in an episode of the latest series of Being Human on BBC Three, I laughed at the scene where Annie has to help a ghost pass over and she asks whether he’s seen Titanic, suggesting that’s his unfinished business. As a mark of respect to the people who died on the real Titanic voyage 100 years ago, it’s been digitally remastered and thrown across the cinemas again in 3D.In all honesty, I’m really not that excited about seeing Kate Winslet strip (again!) in better quality or perhaps seeing a looming iceberg sweep across my face.  I’ll admit that I haven’t seen it, since it first came out in 1997 but there’s a reason for that. It’s three and a half hours long and not all that much happens until the last half an hour.

2. ALICE IN WONDERLAND 

Maybe I set my initial expectations far too high but this should have become one of my favourite films. However, it didn’t and I’ll never really know why. It just didn’t grab me and draw me in like the 1951 Disney version. Lewis Carroll’s masterpieces are both classic tales that will forever hold a place in my heart and with Tim Burton directing, Johnny Depp and Helena Bonham-Carter starring, to see the 2010 film was top of my to-do list. I was really quite disappointed, when I didn’t find myself getting sucked into the action or the plot and merging both Alice’s Adventures In Wonderland and Through The Looking-Glass appeared to make it feel just a bit confused and jumbled. I know that’s very Lewis Carroll but still, a coherent plot that is engaging and exciting is needed for a good film!

3. THE LORD OF THE RINGS: THE TWO TOWERS 

I love Harry Potter and apparently many people love both Rowling and Tolkien’s sagas, so I began watching the Lord of the Rings films. Although love may be too strong a word to describe my opinion on the first installment, I liked it enough to try the second… and unfortunately, didn’t get through it! Much like Alice in Wonderland, it just didn’t grab me from the start and it was also much too long for me. I feel like I should be into Lord of the Rings but I think it’s all just a bit TOO fantastical for me. I like fantasy with a little bit of relatable realism in it and because of this, I haven’t seen the third film.

4. PARANORMAL ACTIVITY 

I wondered whether it was my growing immunity to being freaked by things in horror films or whether the film was just over-hyped before its release. However, I know a lot of people who were scared by it, which is why I couldn’t understand why I didn’t seem to have nightmares and permanent images in my head. The 2009 film apparently terrified American audiences and the trailer that was released in the UK showed the reactions in US cinemas, gearing the film up to be something truly horrifying. I did watch it online, so perhaps I didn’t quite get the full spooky effect but it’s true that supernatural films don’t really scare me anymore. However, it has slightly put me off wanting to see new film The Devil Inside, which is making similar claims.

5. TWILIGHT

I will never understand how this series of films or books became popular. I know it’s become cool to slate them but they ARE bad. Of course, the film isn’t badly made in any way, it’s just the quality of material given in the book its based on. A lot has been written about why they’re awful (badly written, ridiculous plots, dull characters) but they appear to have reignited an interest in supernatural romance in both film and literature. If you’re going to have a go at writing some though, I would advise you not to copy or draw from anything in Meyer’s stories.

Leave a Reply

