England’s Day That No One Remembers

Here’s something weird. On St David’s Day, I was leaving Wales and now on St George’s, I’m leaving England.

It’s quite sad that no one ever does anything for St George’s. I mean, they don’t really do all that much for St David’s but the Welsh at least know when it is. Dan didn’t know that it was St George’s until I told him it was and I know my mother doesn’t know when it is either.

Google remembered, of course and reminded me of the story of how George slayed the dragon because he managed to convert the people of Silene to become Christians or something like that. There’s a lot of other religious stuff involved and how he became the patron saint of England, when he was actually from the East, I don’t know.

I feel we should celebrate it a little more though. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

