INTERVIEW: Hearts Under Fire

After seeing them live a couple of weeks ago and being head over heels in love with their new EP We’ve Come Too Far To Live In The Past, I was incredibly excited to get to ask Hearts Under Fire a few questions. They’ve just finished a mini tour of the UK playing in Liverpool, Wickerman Festival in Scotland and Redfest on their home soil in Surrey, as well as the London show I went to but like the complete fangirl I am, I sent them an e-mail and they were more than happy to talk to me. Four down-to-earth girls, who are living their dream, make up the best alternative girlband around -Hearts Under Fire…

How did the band start?

Lexi: The band started in my bedroom a long time ago, around 2004/2005. We just wanted to play music we loved.

Who are your musical influences?

Lexi: For this band, it would be Alkaline Trio.
Kat: Blink-182, The Barbs, The Fight, Jimmy Eat World, Sum 41, AFI, Motörhead , Sweet Morning Oblivion, so many more.
Nicky: The Gaslight Anthem, Springsteen, Alkaline Trio, Green Day -just to name a couple.
Mary: Prince, Every Time I Die, I Am The Avalanche, Living With Lions, Iron Chic, Judy Garland. Pretty much everything I’ve ever listened to has influenced me in some way.

What’s your favourite track from the new EP and why?

Lexi: Blindfolds – I love everything about it.
Kat: Really hard. I guess You Are: Convenience as it’s the most fun to play live cos its really FAST.
Nicky: I would agree that’s my favourite to play live. I think my overall favourite is Mark My Words as it’s a bit different to what we normally do and I love the melodies and harmonies.
Mary: I like We’ve Come Too Far To Live In The Past because it has a lot of meaning behind it and I feel that the chorus is very uplifting.

What has been the biggest achievement as a band to date?

Lexi: Playing Download & Sonisphere 2010.
Kat: Recording and releasing this EP. Playing Islington Academy was great, as I’ve seen some of my favourite bands like Spinnerette and Paramore play that stage. Wickerman Festival was my first proper festival. Our biggest achievements are still to come.
Nicky: I think Download was the one for me but in our current line up Islington Academy, ridiculous tour bus and a sick new EP!
Mary: I’d have to say Download. Playing a festival that is a lot of people’s dream and we got to do it.

Are there any other upcoming bands we should check out?

Lexi: I’m sure you’ve all heard of them already -Deaf Havana. Also, a band called Legend In Japan we played with them the other day & they were siiiick.
Kat: Grim Dylan, Maid of Ace, ISPYSTRANGERS, Sweet Morning Oblivion.
Nicky: Real Adventures, Circles.
Mary: All of the above haha.

Do you still get scared before a show?

Lexi: I always get a hype.
Kat: Each and every time. I’m secretly a cowardy pants when it comes to shows. I shake with nerves like a tiny frightened dog. I think that if you ever stop getting nervous before you play there is something wrong.
Nicky: Yes, all the time. I agree if you dont feel nervous you’re too comfortable.
Mary: Definitely. I feel you need the nerves to play a good show. That’s what gives you the adrenaline to go out and play and awesome show.

How many tattoos do you have collectively?

Lexi: Too many and probably too lazy to count. A lot.
Kat: I have 7.
Nicky: I have 7.
Mary: I have 12.

What would you be doing if you weren’t in HUF?

Lexi: I expect I’d be playing drums somewhere.. anywhere. But I have always wanted to join the circus!
Kat: I would still be playing in another band and doing music. It’s all I’ve ever wanted to do. At the careers guidance session when I was 15, the lady asked me what I wanted to do, and I said to play in my band and go on tour. She dismissed it and made me take a test which said my ideal job would be a dog groomer… I don’t like dogs. I feel that out of all the bands I’ve been in over the years that I’ve finally found a place where I fit perfectly. Mary, Nicky and Lexi are SO dedicated and passionate. We work really hard as a team and all share the same dream and goals. I’m very lucky that they decided to have me in their band. There is no drama, no selfish behavior, no drugs and no bullshit.
Nicky: I like to think I would be doing something in music. It’s all I’ve ever wanted, since I was 13 years old and first listened to a cassette tape of Green Day’s ‘Warning’. So I think in one way or another, I would have followed music but nothing would compare to being in this band. The only other thing ironically that I do like is animals. I may have taken Kat’s dog grooming job!
Mary: I don’t think I’d be doing much hahaha. If anything I think I’d be studying English Lit somewhere. It’s my second love but I wouldn’t have the life I have now, I wouldn’t have the friends I have or the life experiences. I’d be a completely different person.

And with that, I look forward to more releases from the band, their next London show and to catching up with them again!

1 comment

Leave a Reply

