INTERVIEW: Something Like Kites

slkI’ve had this Canadian guy hanging around on my Twitter for a while and when he sent out a plea for some press coverage, I thought I should step up to the plate. A cheeky electro-pop sound, a voice that just melts and let’s be honest, a very pretty face are all perfect starting ingredients for a modern day, edgy pop star. With a lot of internet support already, Jake who performs under the alias Something Like Kites, managed to give me a quick Q&A.

Who is your biggest musical influence?
Owl City and Ed Sheeran.

Which genre would you put your music into?
Electro hip hop indie pop (that’s pretty much everything then!)

Tell me about your favourite Something Like Kites song.
It would have to be the remix of Go Soft Into The Night because I wrote it with one of my best friends.

Which other new artists or bands do you like?
Tyler Hilton and Ed Sheeran (Hey -I’m thinking he likes Ed Sheeran!)

If you were an animal, what would you be and why?
A funny mischievous monkey!

Have you ever been to London?
No but I would love to!

Do you have any new releases or gigs coming up?
Yes, my new self-titled album is on iTunes -go grab a copy please?!

What would you be doing if you weren’t in music?
Snowboarding and something else creative mixed with business.

Have a listen to Something Like Kites’ original track Snowflake and visit his YouTube for plenty of Ed Sheeran covers!

You can also like him on Facebook and follow him on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

