Everything Everything, Arc (James Rutledge Remix)

jamesrutledgeThe indie band’s hit album has been re-worked into a one track remix by long-time fan and producer James Rutledge. A clever masterpiece that really encapsulates the true essence of the album in just under seven minutes. James said of creating the mix:

“Everything Everything are one of my favourite bands. I wanted to remix the entirety of the new album into one coherent track that retained the emotive punch and some of the thematic threads that run through Arc. To just build a song using disparate parts from the record.

I’ve always loved tracks built from samples and musical collages/ bricolage, edits, tape splicing etc. but really wanted to create something contemporary rather than retroish.

Whilst I was working on it, I had a day where I had to travel on the overground to the other side of London. Steve Reich’s Different Trains was in my earphones and I couldn’t hear it too well because the tannoy announcements during my journey were so loud. As I flipped backwards between my rough version of the remix, the EE album and the Reich track I realised that I wanted the remix to sound like a serene and abstracted train journey where you glimpse bits of the album through the window and fragments of the tracks blow around in the dust.”

Listen to it here on soundcloud.

Leave a Reply

