AskAlex #1

NEW FEATURE ALERT!

Being a music and entertainment blog, there isn’t really that much of me as a person in it but my favourite blogs all have one thing in common -I feel that I know the bloggers personally and that they’re my friends. As my social media following steadily grows, I thought it might be nice if I use every Monday to give my readers a little insight into me. Working with lifestyle bloggers, I have got into reading and nosing into their lives and I love it, so I thought it might be nice to give you a weekly peek into my personality and life. Please don’t worry that this will mean ShowMeSomethingDifferent will morph into just another run-of-the-mill lifestyle blog. It will still be the same blog and will remain dedicated to what you and I both love -music, books and films.

With it being July 1st and all, I thought I’d begin the new month with this new addition AskAlex. Every Monday, I’ll be answering a question from Reddit’s AskReddit forum but if there is anything that you want to know, leave your suggestions in a comment. This week’s question is:

What is the one rule you try to live by every day?

For me, there are a lot of rules I could answer this question with. Apart from the obvious “be nice to people”, I always try to see the good in people and in situations. Having quite low self-esteem at the best of times and often a lack of motivation, this can be pretty difficult for me but I do always make an effort to try. Being a naturally cynical introvert, all too often I’m in a mood where every little thing annoys me and I keep it all pent up inside rather than exploding into a long, drawn-out rant. However, when I’m confronted with a less than ideal situation or someone who isn’t really my cup of tea, after the initial overwhelming feeling of “I hate you/this/myself”, I tell myself to take a step back and reflect. How can I approach it in a healthier and more positive way?

Normally, if someone close to me or someone I can’t exactly block out of my life forever is doing my head in, I will think of their good points. This is definitely easier said than done a lot of the times but I find that identifying their attractive physical features is the simplest way. It’s only a little thing and you don’t even have to tell them they have beautiful eyes/hair/skin (frankly, that would be a bit weird if it was totally out of the blue) but just having that thought about them makes me feel so much better.

With a tough situation, it’s often harder. A lot of deep breathing occurs followed by frantic trawling the internet for possible solutions. When I first started my job in marketing, I didn’t really have a clue where to start. I had very little knowledge of how to amass followers on social media and I didn’t understand a lot of the jargon the online handbooks churned out. However, over the past three months, I’ve learnt that time really is the best teacher. Despite my natural reaction to a difficult situation being to turn to books and blogs, my job has taught me to just dive in and start looking around at what it’s all about. Likewise with a difficult personal problem. It’s best to work through it, use your avenues of support as much as you need to and remember that things will get better.

I’ll finish with one of my favourite quotes that has been made famous by John Lennon -“Everything will be ok in the end. If it’s not ok, it’s not the end”, which I guess is the rule I live by every day.

Leave a Reply

