Happy Book Lovers Day!

book-lovers-daySomething a little bit different today…

As an avid reader and self-confessed bibliophile, books are a big part of my life. They’re my escapism from reality and have been since I was a young child, when I first picked up a Roald Dahl book (I believe it was Charlie and the Chocolate Factory!). When I became a teenager, books did slip out of my life briefly (although Harry Potter never did) and normal teen angsty stuff got in the way. Looking back, books probably would have been my best medicine but it wasn’t until I was 16 and choosing my A levels that I realised how much books still meant to me. Naturally, I chose English Literature and loved it enough to go on to do a degree in it. 

Although I have studied books, the stresses and seriousness hasn’t put me off reading. I didn’t like that I had to, at times, read books I didn’t enjoy and relished the idea of reading exactly what I wanted to, during the holidays. Since I’ve left uni, books have become more important than ever and there’s nothing I like better than disappearing into someone else’s world. A good book can leave me reeling for days after, even when I’ve already started another one and I honestly don’t know of anything else that has that power.

I was contacted by content marketing agency Ghergich & Co. who have produced the awesome graphic above to celebrate Book Lovers Day. Take some time out today to find somewhere cosy, make a cup of tea and curl up with a literary wonder. I promise you will feel a world of difference upon turning the last page.

 

Leave a Reply

