AskAlex #8

There were a lot of questions I could have answered this week and I even scrolled down to the second page of “top questions this week”. I’ve chosen one that I felt would tell you the most about me and as a result, I haven’t given it a straight answer. However, it is one that I think everyone has an answer to and therefore if you’re reading this, I’d like you to answer it too.

If you could put any line from a book, movie, TV show or song on your tombstone, what would it be?

As an avid music lover, reader and TV/film addict, there are so many quotes I could use. The lines written to the right of this post under the title “Truths” are all things that really resonate with me. “Hell is empty and all the devils are here” from The Tempest has always been my favourite Shakespeare quote but it’s not that appropriate to put on a tombstone!

The Harry Potter films have some truly inspiring worldly remarks in them that I always try to remember. These include two Dumbledore quotes: “It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live” from Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, which tells me to be realistic and not to mourn broken dreams and “Happiness can be found in the darkest of times, if one only remembers to turn on the light” from Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, which reminds me to look for the good in every bad situation. Either of these quotes would serve as uplifting messages for me to leave after my death.

I love the lyric “paying with love tonight” from Jessie J’s Price Tag, which I think is a lovely way of saying that love is always more important than money. This is probably the only song lyric I know that really resonates with me as special apart from the simple idea of “Don’t stop believing” by Journey, which many of you will know is my favourite ever song.

John Green is a young adult fiction writer who I have only got into this year since the release of his biggest book ever The Fault In Our Stars. It’s a book who has been read by many and it’s constantly quoted online. “My thoughts are stars I cannot fathom into constellations” as said by Gus is something that pretty much all creative people can relate to. It’s a beautiful line that illustrates the disorganisation of great ideas and indescribable feelings perfectly.

Another profound literary quote that I love and that I read so much truth in is “We accept the love we think we deserve” as said by Mr Anderson in Stephen Chbosky’s The Perks of Being A Wallflower. It’s so true and says so much about how unsuitable relationships are formed by people with low self-esteem. Just turning those words over in my mind reminds me to have self-belief and know what is and isn’t acceptable from love. Even though I am in a happy, healthy relationship, it’s still something that I hold on to and that I think others should too.

Naturally my favourite writer Stephen King shouldn’t be missed from this list and his quote “Monsters are real and ghosts are real too. They live inside of us and sometimes they win” which tells us that everyone has demons. Everyone has darkness inside of us that sometimes surfaces when we really don’t want it to. Coming from someone who writes about monsters and ghosts as fictional creatures, it’s so sobering for him to acknowledge that these things do exist. Sure, it’s in a different form to how they usually appear in his books but they’re always present in the real world.

So, in short there are a lot of quotes that I could have on my tombstone. So many wise words of wisdom and beautiful turns of phrase that I love. Hopefully by the time I die, I’ll have said and written my own tombstone-worthy lines, so mine will be as original as possible.

Leave a Reply

