AskAlex #12

I can’t believe I’m already on my twelfth AskAlex. This little weekly feature has become something that I really look forward to writing and I hope that it gives a little bit of an insight into me for the people who care. Ask Reddit had quite a few options for me this week including “what children’s films/TV shows are still worth watching?”, “what’s something that you do alone but not in public because it’s too weird?” and “what job did you want as a kid but are glad you don’t have now?” but I’ve gone for another philosophical, reflective one.

How did you figure out what you want to do in life?

The short answer is that I watched the film 13 Going On 30 at the age of 14. For those of you who haven’t seen this wonderful, feel-good film, it’s the story of Jenna Rink who somehow wakes up from her 13th birthday party as her 30-year-old self, who is a sassy, flirty fashion magazine editor. It’s a beautiful romance and coming-of-age story which depicts the life of a fashion journalist in a very glamorous and exciting light. Set to an upbeat 80s soundtrack with a strong theme of female power and unity, it’s a film that I think every woman needs to watch.

Although fashion isn’t the field of journalism I want to go into, creating my own ideas, seeing them through and then having them ready to be enjoyed by others has always been something that I’ve wanted. I took my passion of music, namely indie and alternative rock, and decided that I wanted to be in the industry. I was never going to be happy sitting at a desk being a wage slave. I always wanted to enjoy my job and listening to music and writing have always come hand in hand as my favourite things to do.

So with the combination of 13 Going On 30 inspiration and the knowledge that music and writing were my favourite things, I realised that music journalism was what I wanted to do at around age 15. It was then that I set up my first blog, although that was just an online diary which really wasn’t that interesting at all. In fact, this blog (set up in January 2012) was the first attempt I made to actually formally review music and in order to make it a little more varied, I threw in the odd film and book review too.

Right now, my blog is a huge part of my life. It’s my own little corner of the internet where I can pretend that I am a big shot journalist and as more and more musicians e-mail me wanting me to listen to their work, I begin to feel important and maybe even one step closer to my dream of getting paid to do this. Although I have to admit that I don’t quite have Jenna Rink’s life, I’m very happy and feel lucky that I am so sure of what I want at the tender age of 22.

Leave a Reply

