AskAlex #20

Wow, I can’t believe I’m already on the twentieth AskAlex! This little feature is always a welcome break from reviews and this week, I’m afraid that it’s going to get a bit slushy. If you have any questions for me, please comment on this post and I’ll answer them on a future AskAlex.

What is the moment you realised you were dating a keeper?

Those who know me personally will know that I’ve been with the same guy for nearly five years now. Since two weeks after my eighteenth birthday to be exact. I’m not sure if there was an exact moment that I knew he was a keeper but I knew pretty soon after we started dating that he was going to be in my life forever.

It was simply the connection we had from the very first date. We met online as teenagers and we’d spent the best part of the year before talking online, getting to know each other without having met face to face and through this, when we did finally meet we already had a connection on some level. Our first date wasn’t the typical awkward situation that it normally is because we were already two people who knew we had plenty in common. We could make each other laugh and there was just a feeling of contentment when we were in each other’s company.

During the first year of our relationship, we did have plenty of problems. With me living in south London and him in the northern part of Essex, the distance meant that we couldn’t see each other that often. That and the fact that I was a very difficult eighteen year old who was indecisive and confused about what she wanted. Weirdly, when I went to uni in Wales (even further away from him) I grew up and realised that he was what I wanted. I missed him so much and his visits really did keep me going at times. He always knew the right things to say and as the years went by, I realised that he’d got to know me better than I even knew myself. I guess if I had to pinpoint a moment when I realised he was a “keeper”, it was when I realised that.

Leave a Reply

