AskAlex #21

Something that is a little bit different this week. I think it’s the first gender specific question I’ve answered and as a result, it’s something that I’m afraid guys can’t really answer in quite the same way. Of course, if you want to explore the rather more controversial topic of female body hair then by all means, be my guest!

What do you think of male body hair?

It’s a bit of a funny one for me. When I was younger, I was dead against any kind of body hair on guys including facial hair but when I met my boyfriend (who does have a fair amount of hair!), I changed my mind. However, this is something that I’ve often pondered. Have my tastes actually changed or do I just love him so much that it doesn’t really matter? I’m actually thinking the latter.

In order to answer that question, I’d have to consider how I feel when I see topless men in Cosmo or online. I’d have to say that I’m really not attracted to masses of hair. Back hair is a no no and thick chest hair isn’t really for me. I quite like a small snail trail below the naval and of course, I am a fan of stubble -what woman isn’t?!

I’m really not a fan of moustaches. Any kind really. I find them really creepy and weird particularly on young guys. I know there’s a trend amongst hipsters for them right now and obviously they spring up everywhere this month in aid of Movember but they’re possibly one of the least attractive physical features in my opinion.

Despite all this talk about what kinds of body hair I do and don’t like on men, physical appearance has never been high up on my list when deciding whether someone is attractive or not. The ability to make me laugh, strong ambitions and a certain air of individuality is much more important to me than the amount of hair on the guy’s body. No doubt this is the same for most women, so don’t feel you have to reach straight for the razor, boys!

Leave a Reply

