AskAlex #24

There’s nothing I like better than settling down in front of a fire with a cup of tea and a good book on a winter’s night. In fact, I’m pretty sure I mentioned that in last week’s AskAlex but today’s question is book-related. In particular, sad book-related. Let me know if any of these make your tear ducts twitch.

Which line from a book hit you so hard that it made you cry?

Certainly the first one that comes to mind is the simple utterance of the word “Always” from Severus Snape in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. Harry is looking into the Pensieve at Snape’s memories and he stumbles upon a conversation between Snape and Dumbledore. The actual quote is:

“Dumbledore watched her fly away, and as her silvery glow faded he turned back to Snape, and his eyes were full of tears.
“After all this time?”
“Always,” said Snape”

It refers to Snape’s love for Harry’s mother Lily and it’s the moment that Harry realises the source of Snape’s icy exterior and sees that actually, he’s just heartbroken over events of his youth. It’s an incredibly sad moment and it’s amplified by the fact that Snape has already died by this point.

This year I discovered the work of John Green and The Fault In Our Stars is a book that I knew would move me to tears just from reading the blurb. The film is due to be released next year and it is truly an inspirational, highly emotional read. Among many other quotes in the book, the one that really got me was:

“But, Gus, my love, I cannot tell you how thankful I am for our little infinity. I wouldn’t trade it for the world. You gave me a forever within the numbered days and I’m grateful.”

This is just after Gus’ untimely death and I think this quote really epitomises Hazel’s love for him. The short time they had together is something that she will remember and treasure forever. It’s bittersweet because although both Hazel and Gus were dealt a bad hand in life, they both knew love. The image of “our little infinity” really puts our lives into perspective. We all have our own little infinities and for me, it forces me to appreciate every little part of that.

Another YA author who I discovered this year was Annabel Pitcher. Her book My Sister Lives On The Mantlepiece had me in floods of tears on several occasions but none more than the death of Roger the cat. The quote that got me in particular was:

“I hate dead things. They scare me. Roger’s mouse. Roger’s rabbit. Roger. I took a deep breath. It didn’t help. The octopus was holding my lungs and squeezing them hard. There wasn’t enough air. There would never be enough air.”

I feel like not everyone would understand this feeling over a pet. It makes me think that maybe Annabel Pitcher really does and because of this, I really relate to her. My cats cause a lot of my anxiety and the thought of losing them is honestly one of my most frightening. The description in this little passage is so accurate, honest and beautifully written that I couldn’t help but cry over, mainly because I saw so much of myself in it.

Well, that was a pretty weepy post but I’d love to know your answers, so please tell me in a comment!

Leave a Reply

