AskAlex #27

It’s the last AskAlex of the year and it’s quite a specific one. It’s something that not everyone can answer but if you’re into young adult literature, then I’m sure you’re one of the lucky few who can. If you have any other answers to this question then I would really love to hear them, as new book recommendations are always welcome!

What are your favourite dystopian novels apart from 1984 and Brave New World?

It struck me as kind of weird that when I read the word “dystopian”, I don’t immediately think of either of these novels. Odd as they both definitely are. I haven’t read Brave New World but I’ve heard the premise of it described as “what if our desires killed us?” which I guess is the opposite to 1984, which revolves around the idea that our fears kill us.

So with that in mind, you can probably guess that my mind wandered to the current wave of young adult fiction. Dystopian worlds are rife in the genre right now with the rise of The Hunger Games and Veronica Roth’s Divergent trilogy. I am a big fan of The Hunger Games and Catching Fire, the second instalment is my favourite. Unfortunately, I didn’t like the conclusion much and therefore I can’t really rave too much about the series as a whole. I am yet to explore the Divergent world but it does interest me greatly and all three books are on my to-read list for 2014.

I was lucky enough to get some great books for my birthday and Christmas recently including The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken. It’s another dystopian novel that centres on a girl’s escape from a rehabilitation camp that imprisons those with special abilities. Since its release last December and its sequel Never Fade which came out in October, it has generated a huge fanbase and I can’t wait to read it.

Another series that I’ve heard great things about is the Matched trilogy by Ally Condie. In this series, teens undergo a matching process in order to find their destined lovers. The protagonist is matched with her best friend but another boy’s face accidentally flashes onto the screen afterwards. The trilogy then evolves into an elaborate love triangle where the protagonist questions her own fate. Again, this sounds like a super interesting dystopian series that I’d love to get into.

These are the young adult series that I’ve heard of through book bloggers and YouTubers. As I say, this genre is very heavily saturated with dystopian books right now, so this question fitted really well with what I like to read. Any other dystopian books that I should know about should be left in the comments. Some more adult alternatives would be especially appreciated!

 

Leave a Reply

