AskAlex #30

I can hardly believe that this is the 30th AskAlex. I know I say that at every milestone but it really is amazing how time flies and how much happens in your life. Today will be another downbeat post because once again, I’ve picked a downbeat topic but it does have tinges of light, so stay tuned!

How do you cope with loneliness?

The short answer is that I don’t cope very well. I don’t like being on my own for long periods of time and when I am, I do get very depressed. My lack of motivation in that state means I can never get much work done even when I’ve got lots to do. In fact, long term loneliness is one of my biggest fears and because of this, I do rely on other people to cheer me up a lot of the time.

One way I can deal with it is to read. Being able to open a book and enter a world that isn’t anything like my own stops me being lonely. Suddenly, there are characters next to me and I’m involved in their lives but not immersed in their problems, which often makes me feel so much better. Watching fantasy films and TV shows such as Supernatural and Doctor Who also help with it because they’re so far from reality that I forget my problems for the hour.

I think everyone has different ways of coping it and loneliness is something that affects everyone in different ways. For me, loneliness knocks my self-esteem cause it makes me feel unwanted. I know that that says a lot about my character and the way I feel and therefore, I try my best to stay positive when I’m lonely. I think of all the good things in my life and it does normally cause the negative feelings to pass. Learning to cope with it is important and it’s something that I’m working on every day.

 

Leave a Reply

