BOOK REVIEW: ADHD According To Zoe

ADHDAccordingtoZoeMECH.inddTITLE: ADHD According To Zoe
AUTHOR: Zoe Kessler
EDITION: New Harbinger Publications
RELEASED: September 1st 2013

I very rarely read non-fiction books but I won this one in a Goodreads giveaway and thought I’d let you know what I thought of it. I’ve never really been a huge fan of non-fiction memoir books but I have read a couple by interesting female writers and really enjoyed them. As you can probably tell from the title of this one, it is slightly different to regular autobiographies and such, so I thought I’d give it a go.

The author Zoe is a blogger and journalist who was diagnosed with ADHD (Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder) as an adult. Having suffered with typical ADHD traits all her life, she was relieved to finally have a label for her problems and in turn has used it to create a better understanding of herself. In her book, Zoe tackles all manner of perceptions of the disorder from the skeptics, the supporters and indeed the sufferers. As most ADHD sufferers are diagnosed as children, Zoe looks at ways in which being diagnosed in later life can be a blessing. Finally, things make sense and choices can be made in light of it.

I’ve always had an interest in ADHD and similar disorders as I feel that I myself have traits of autism, OCD and after reading this book, ADD. I could relate to so many of Zoe’s funny stories where her disorder had hindered her life and I couldn’t help but see myself in her shoes. Of course, I didn’t automatically assume that I too suffered with ADHD (I certainly don’t have the hyperactivity part) but I do have problems with attention and finishing tasks that I start. Due to this, many of Zoe’s anecdotes about social faux pas, disorganisation and chaotic mind patterns really resonated with me.

Being able to relate to an author of a book like this was a shock to me because I wasn’t expecting to at all! I knew that I have traits of similar disorders but I never considered that this book might really speak to me. I would definitely recommend any neurotic reader to pick this up as it not only has some laugh-out-loud stories but also plenty of information on ADHD and the different academic views of it. A book that is both funny and informative can’t not get a good review from me, so I’d like to thank Zoe for providing this uplifting and inspirational read!

Leave a Reply

