AskAlex #33

This week’s question comes at an appropriate time. I think a lot of us are still footing Christmas bills and we’re all feeling the pinch a bit. I certainly went a bit mad in the post Christmas sales, so my January wage packet hasn’t quite stretched as much as I would have liked it to. However, this question has allowed my mind to wander and dream of a simpler time that will never be.

If you never had to worry about money, how would you spend your time?

I would live the best life I ever could. Take endless trips abroad, stay in some beautiful hotels and buy all the things I’ve always wanted. I have a slight addiction to buying pretty things and I really enjoy the experience of shopping. Therefore, if my funds were never-ending or the concept of money didn’t exist, I’m not sure I’d ever stop.

Spending time in bookshops and coffee shops is my favourite thing and it relaxes me beyond belief. The thought of my whole life consisting of this sounds amazing and the fact that I’d be constantly diving into different literary worlds makes it seem like it wouldn’t even get boring. Maybe I might lose touch with reality and living such a small, real life probably wouldn’t do much for my mental health but I’d really love to do exactly that for a short while.

The desire to travel has been a part of me since I was very young and it still resides within me. There is so much of the world I haven’t seen and I’d love to take some time out and see some of the places that I’ve heard so many amazing things about. The totally different, unique culture of Japan, the rolling golden sun and beaches of Australia, the sheer vastness and magic of both Poles. I feel that I wouldn’t die happy until I’d seen a huge variety of places.

I guess these things are obvious answers to the question but as always, it’s my honest response. So what would you do, if money was no object?

 

 

Leave a Reply

