AskAlex #35

Looking back to my childhood again this week with a question that reeks of that wonderful sensation -nostalgia. Thinking back to simpler times is one of the rare things that makes me both smile and cry. It’s one of my favourite things to do even if the realisation that it’s gone forever often saddens me. I don’t know how healthy it is to look back to the past but it certainly cheers me up sometimes.

What is something you experienced in your youth that kids today will never experience?

As a 90s child, I am amazed to realise that so many things that I enjoyed as a kid are now obsolete to the kids today. Just twenty years ago, I had yet to start school and the only forms of entertainment I knew were dolls and Disney films. Saying that sounds so old-fashioned as I’m sure it’s not hugely dissimilar to my parents and even grandparents childhoods although they didn’t have TV, of course. However, I don’t remember ever watching TV properly until I was at least six or seven so I can only assume that my early childhood was one of simple pleasures.

The idea of a life like this now is one that strangely intrigues me. I would love to go back to a time when I wasn’t constantly checking my social media channels for new information or worrying about how good I look in my photos. Of course in a lot of ways, having such ready access to the internet is a great thing. It means I’m rarely bored (although I sometimes STILL am) and the huge range of entertainment that is available to me has grown a thousand-fold from what I had as a kid but feeding snippets of your life to the people who mainly only stand on the periphery of it is stressful, right?

When I hear stories of three and four year olds being given mobile phones and iPads as gifts from their parents, I’m shocked. Even though I’m only in my early twenties, it’s amazing that kids being born today will probably live a totally different childhood to the one I did. Time moves so fast and it does sadden me a bit that they will never know the simplicity that I experienced as a kid. They’re introduced to this whole digital world without a dial-up system in sight!

 

Leave a Reply

