AskAlex #42

At first glance this question might suggest that I’m about to reveal dodgy dark secrets to you all but I’d never do something so stupid to the huge anonymous canvas that is the internet. Of course, I do things online that no one knows about and I think anyone who spends a significant amount of time online has similar secrets. In fact, I don’t believe anyone who denies it. It’s quite funny because unless you are doing something you really shouldn’t be then there’s not really any need to keep them secrets but there’s kind of an unspoken rule that we have to. Here’s what I get up to online that you didn’t know before!

What secrets and hobbies on the internet do you keep from your real life friends?

For a long time, I kept blogging a secret. Why? Because I was a little afraid of criticism. Writing for me has always been a release and something that I would quite like to be good at. I never wanted anyone to read my blog and comment on terrible sentence structure or grammar or point out that my posts were dull. When I first got into writing, which was as a teenager, this would have knocked my confidence completely and so I kept it a secret for a long time. For the same reason, I kept my poetry secret too. On my very first blog, which was a Livejournal, I’d post a mixture of diary entries, poems and general rants about the kind of things 15-year-olds feel the need to talk about. It was writing that wasn’t for any particular purpose other than something for me to do but it meant enough for me to hide it from the real world.

When I went to university, I was entrusted with a student blog where I could record my time at Aberystwyth for prospective students. This I kept from my housemates because I didn’t want the floods of questions and possible criticisms. As it happened, one of my housemates did eventually stumble across it during the first year and it was then common knowledge although it only ever came up in conversation a few times over the three years. Other than fear of being told it was rubbish, I can’t really say why I kept it secret. I guess I’ve always been shy about showing my talents and risk being called a show-off, so I just keep quiet about my personal ventures.

Recently, I have been getting into the rather nerdy hobby of online quizzing. I’ve always loved quizzes and puzzles in all their forms and I’ve developed a bit of an obsession with them. Naming all the countries in the world or all original Pokemon is great fun for me but I know how not fun it is for most other people, so I don’t tell anyone because I probably won’t be able to talk about it with them. BuzzFeed quizzes are also very addictive but it’s not really a secret that I love them as they seem to be pretty popular!

So there you go -nothing too sordid, just a bit weird!

 

Leave a Reply

