AskAlex #52

So it has now been a whole year of AskAlex and I’d like to thank everyone who has ever read or commented on a post. I’m afraid this will be my last post of its kind. I feel like it has been a great interlude to my reviews but it has now come to an end. I hope it has given you an insight into me as a person and I only hope that you continue reading my blog.

What can you do today that you couldn’t do a year ago?

Such a fitting end to a year-long feature! One thing I have definitely improved is my ability to write without fear of others’ opinions. I feel that this is really important for bloggers and journalists. You have to be honest, especially if you’re reviewing something and if that means a negative write-up, then that’s the way it has to be.

If you read my earlier posts, you’ll see that I used to be quite complimentary of pretty much everything I reviewed. However, recently I have reconsidered this. When you’re first starting out in the blogosphere, you want to gain friends and followers and so giving a positive review seems like a sure-fire way of doing so. Of course it works and you get a lovely reply back from the band/author/brand and a friendly professional rapport begins. For me, even back then, there was always a niggling doubt in my mind that perhaps this wasn’t the best way to build a blog or website upon.

I was immediately concerned that I wasn’t being honest with my readers and that really bothered me to the point where I did decide to change tack. Reviewing music as often as I do isn’t always easy. Quite often, I listen to an EP or album that someone has sent me and I just think “my god, this really isn’t for me at all” and my heart immediately sinks. Not only have I got to write a less than glowing review but I also owe it to the musician to listen to the entirety of the record -a real chore if I already hate it at the start. However, I do force myself to do this because I feel I can’t really give a fully informed review of something I’ve only heard half of -I suffer so you don’t have to!

So definitely, writing more balanced reviews is something that I’ve learnt to do in the last year and I’m really proud of myself. I feel like my blog is now more of my honest opinions rather than me trying to gain friends. Having said that, I do always look for the positives in everything and therefore, I’ll probably never give an entirely bad review -future reviewees, don’t be afraid!

 

Leave a Reply

